Freezer Cooking for the obstinate

We are heading into basketball season and I know things are going to get busy. I don’t like freezer cooking, but am feeling forced to join the ranks of those that prepare food ahead of time, so we don’t starve to death.

I am not a hard core freezer cooker…more of a stubborn, obstinate one.

I am going at it slowly and trying to think of things we will actually eat and enjoy.

Today I made a batch of chicken, broccoli and rice. There was 4 dinners worth for the freezer and one for dinner tonight without chicken in it, as I had chicken legs on the side.

P1060472My table covered with groceries.

I am starting slowly, so had cooked the rice yesterday.

P1060477

I pulled chicken out of the freezer and started poaching it on the back burner. I also pulled out some grated zucchini, tomatoes from last year and added it to a large can of crushed tomatoes to make a pan of pasta sauce.

P1060476I also made popcorn and tea, to sustain me while working.

P1060475My large can of tomatoes with puree before going in the pan to be simmered. It will simmer with spices, basil leaves from the garden until bedtime and then tomorrow.

P1060482It smells good!! I am planning on making some lasagna and noodle casserole to go in the freezer possibly. I will likely freeze some sauce, by itself as I have about 2 gallons.

P1060485My reading material while cooking! This book was amazing and I will be posting a review in a couple of weeks, but what a book! I couldn’t put it down! The Devil has no Mother by Nicky Cruz

P1060478I added half a gallon of homemade white sauce to the rice, 2.5 bags of broccoli, chicken and some cheese with spices to taste to the bowl. I added some chicken broth as well, that the chicken had been poached in to moisten.

P10604844 meals ready to go in the freezer….

P1060483 I flattened them out so they don’t take up a lot of space, but there is enough to feed 6-8, in each bag apx. or 4 very hungry boys.

We will see how the rest of this goes!

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Bargain Dinners, Daily Happenings, Recipes

One response to “Freezer Cooking for the obstinate

  1. Martha – I think you’ll find it so helpful to have things prepped ahead of time. I made a large batch of meatballs this weekend and froze them, along with some shredded chicken. Basketball starts soon here too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

