Until The Harvest by Sarah Loudin Thomas

Reviewed by Martha Artyomenko

Until The Harvest

Until The Harvest

Book Description:

When a family tragedy derails Henry Phillips’s college studies, he’s left unmoored and feeling abandoned. Although Henry tries to find escape in bad company, the only things that can tamp down his anger and grief are the family farm, his fiddle, and sweet but unusual pre-teen Mayfair Hoffman.
Unfortunately, Mayfair’s older sister, Margaret, with the freckles and cute, turned-up nose, has the opposite effect. Worse, she’s his grandmother’s housekeeper and helper, so she’s always around and ready to push his buttons. At first he thinks she doesn’t care about his loss, before beginning to understand she’s facing her own struggles. Mayfair’s health and unique gift sit at the heart of those worries, and Henry and Margaret soon find themselves relying on each other as both Henry’s future and Mayfair’s life are put at risk.

My Review:

I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in this series and eagerly anticipated this book. I found the beginning a bit slow moving, fascinating. I say this only for those of you that may pick it up and set it down again. Keep going! It is worth it!

Mayfair was likely one of my favorite characters in this book as well as Perla again. Mayfair’s health issues were looked on differently at this time in history than we look on a health issue of similar fashion now. I struggled to like Henry very much. I wanted to shake him more times in this book.

My favorite scenes in this story were surrounding the milk cow! I love milk cows and the experience of learning how to milk is near and dear to my heart. The visit to this small town was refreshing.

I wished the ending held a little more details and didn’t feel quite as rushed as it did. I found myself noticing more the writing style than the story there at the end, but it made it worth it when as it does wrap up neatly.

This book was provided for review by the publisher and NetGalley. The opinions contained herein are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

