A Diary of a Jackwagon by Tim Hawkins

Reviewed by Martha Artyomenko

_140_245_Book.1646.cover

Book Description:

Popular Christian comedian Tim Hawkins shares his hilarious perspective on life in the 21st century.

In this wide-ranging, long-awaited book, comedian Tim Hawkins holds forth on everything from family, culture, and music to church, parenting, and education. Readers will enjoy laughing their way through the book, always feeling good about the clean and sometimes inspiring material they are laughing at. Chapters include riffs on marital communication (“marriage needs a challenge flag, like in pro football”) aging (“the diabolical orifice witch hunt”), worship music (“pick the right key, because I’m not Barry White and I’m not a Bee Gee”), and fatherhood (“There are no manuals for parenting. Color-coded warning labels or open-ended prescriptions would be just as helpful.”)

For fans of Jim Gaffigan’s Dad Is Fat and Food: A Love Story, Tim Hawkins’ hilarious first book reveals that for life’s many difficulties, laughter is the best medicine-when there aren’t any pills left.

My Review:

Tim Hawkins has been a family favorite here for quite some time. If you are having a bad day, there is nothing like a Tim Hawkins video or clip to cheer you up. Now there is a book! This was one that my family enjoyed hearing pieces of around the dinner table for a good laugh. Spiced with Hawkins unique senses of humor, you may even learn something about parenting, marriage or even just everyday life!

The book is a fun change from much of our heavy self-help Christian books, and will lighten your day.

This book was provided for me for review by BookLook bloggers.

The opinions contained herein are my own.

 

I review for BookLook Bloggers

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s