Whispers in the Reading Room by Shelley Gray

25331497.jpg

Reviewed by Martha Artyomenko

About the Book:

Lydia’s job at the library is her world—until a mysterious patron catches her eye . . . and perhaps her heart.

Just months after the closure of the Chicago World’s Fair, librarian Lydia Bancroft finds herself fascinated by a mysterious dark-haired and dark-eyed patron. He has never given her his name; he actually never speaks to a single person. All she knows about him is that he loves books as much as she does.

Only when he rescues her in the lobby of the Hartman Hotel does she discover that his name is Sebastian Marks. She also discovers that he lives at the top of the prestigious hotel and that most everyone in Chicago is intrigued by him.

My Review:

This was a lighter style read in many ways, but I just had so many times I stopped and just shook my head a bit.
The setting for this book was amazing! The reading room was described beautifully and I felt like I met the characters. They were very lifelike and real feeling. I loved the tale that had an unusual romantic thread as well. However, I felt like in the end I would have liked to see a few more details included. I will not say what they were so you can enjoy the story, but it would be something to think on.
Overall, the history was lovely and gave a good feel for the city of Chicago at that time.

You can purchase this book at this link… Whispers in the Reading Room

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews

One response to “Whispers in the Reading Room by Shelley Gray

  1. ooh, that sounds really interesting! I just finished reading The Chronos Files, which has some parts set at the Chicago World’s Fair, so I’d like to read more set around that. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

