Where She Belongs by Johnnie Alexander

 

cover74752-medium.png

Reviewed by Martha Artyomenko

About the Book:

Shelby Kincaid is ready to move on from her grief. With high hopes for the future, she longs to purchase her family’s ancestral homestead so she can raise her young daughters in the only place she ever truly belonged. She plans to transform the abandoned house into the perfect home of her memories. But she’ll have her work cut out for her.

AJ Sullivan never wanted the homestead. Inherited as a punishment from his grandfather, it has sat empty for fifteen years and fallen into ruin. He’s glad to finally unload it. But a clean break isn’t possible when he can’t get the young widow Shelby off his mind.

Welcome to Misty Willow, a place that will have as great a hold over the reader as it does over its inhabitants. With writing that evokes a strong sense of place and personal history, Johnnie Alexander deftly explores the ties that bind us to home–and the irresistible forces that draw us to each other.

My Review:

One of my goals this month is to read some authors that I have never read before. It is harder than you would think, as much as I have read. I have found myself drawn to books that I already know will be enjoyable.

This book caught my attention from the get go. It is hard to say what it was, the young widow longing for home, or the teacher that had lost everyone dear to him. You could almost say that forgiveness was the theme of the story, except it was not. It was more about healing and recovery for the wounded.

The one complaint I had about the story, was the main character is remodeling a home, and yet she seems to blink and it is done. Nothing goes wrong, everything goes from messy to beautiful very rapidly. This told me that either the author had never remodeled a home before, or if she did, she hired contractors that skimmed over the norms of remodeling. It was more just something to smile at in the book.

I really enjoyed this author and will be picking up a book by her again!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

2 responses to “Where She Belongs by Johnnie Alexander

  1. Rebecca maney

    I am trying to read a few new authors this year as well. This sounds like a book that I would enjoy reading.

    Like

  2. I was so caught up in this story that I didn’t even think about the “effortless” remodeling you mentioned, Martha, but you’re right. I had read and enjoyed her earlier WWII story, but this is my favorite genre, so I’m glad she started this series. This one went on my “best of the best” list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

