The Feathered Bone by Julie Cantrell

Reviewed by Martha Artyomenko

25379594.jpg

About the Book: 

In the pre-Katrina glow of New Orleans, Amanda Salassi is anxious about chaperoning her daughter’s sixth grade field trip to the Big Easy during Halloween. And then her worst fears come true. Her daughter’s best friend, Sarah, disappears amid the magic and revelry—gone, without a trace.

Unable to cope with her guilt, Amanda’s daughter sinks in depression. And Amanda’s husband turns destructive as he watches his family succumb to grief. Before long, Amanda’s whole world has collapsed.

Set amidst the murky parishes of rural Louisiana and told through the eyes of two women who confront the darkest corners of humanity with quiet and unbreakable faith, The Feathered Bone is Julie Cantrell’s master portrait of love in a fallen world.

My Review:

I had no idea what to expect when I picked up this book. However, I was not expecting to feel like my life had changed. There are not many books I say that about.

I know this book may not touch others as it did me, but I am hoping that will speak the message of hope in dark circumstances to everyone that reads it.

This book covers some really hard topics, such was depression, domestic violence, suicide, kidnapping, trafficking, and divorce. But the key element in this book was it was not a depressing book. Every page was infused with the hope that we all have if we follow the Lord.

Julie paints a picture using words to imprint on souls for eternity. When I was reading the final pages of the book, tears filled my eyes, but not with sadness. It was joy over the characters life changing experiences. None of them had it easy! I recognized the similarities between one of the characters stories to Elizabeth Smart. I read her autobiography and felt that healing joy despite the evil inflicted upon her when I read it. It was the same with this story.

Since it does deal with some hard topics, this book would be more suited for teens that are mature and their parents to read together and discuss. I think it deals with issues that even conservative teens need to read about though, so I actually do recommend that teens read, but discuss with parents after reading it. It would be an excellent book club read.

You can purchase a copy here on Amazon. “The Feathered Bone” By Julie Cantrell 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

